Federal Gov’t still waiting for State request for flood assistance: McCormack

Many local Government Areas within the Riverina have yet to receive the necessary tick-off from the New South Wales Government in order to receive Commonwealth flood assistance.

These shires include: Bland, Carrathool, Coolamon, Gundagai, Junee, Temora, Tumbarumba and Tumut.
Many towns within these shires yet to receive any financial aid were severely flood affected, including Beckom, Ganmain, Ungarie and others.
However, until the State Government makes the necessary request of the Federal Government for financial assistance, no Commonwealth flood relief can be allocated.
This is the normal procedure in such natural disaster events, Federal Member for Riverina Michael McCormack said.
“I have been lobbying both State and Federal Governments hard to ensure all Riverina people affected by the recent disastrous floods receive the necessary help,” Mr McCormack said.
“Many people have been hit hard and this has been a great disruption to their lives and livelihoods.
“In some cases homes and farms have been destroyed and in others businesses have been severely affected.
“I know how tough these people are doing it at the moment as I have see the damage first-hand and I will continue to do everything I can to ensure the proper financial assistance is given to them.”
Mr McCormack said he had been in touch with local State MPs who informed him that the necessary State approvals could and should happen this week.
“In some areas the process has been slow because the NSW Department of Primary Industries needed to make a proper assessment of flood damaged caused and in some situations roads were inaccessible,” Mr McCormack said.
“This process needs to be completed this week and the state requests for Commonwealth help given so that the necessary reconstruction assistance, grants and Centrelink payments made to help those most in need.”

Cristy Houghton