MP writing competition winners announced

FEDERAL Member for Riverina, Michael McCormack, has announced the winners of his ANZAC writing competition.

Now in its third year ANZAC Day in the Riverina had more than 700 entries from schools across the region.

“This year’s ANZAC writing competition further demonstrated the talent and passion of Riverina students,” Mr McCormack said. 

“I was very impressed by the calibre of the entries and encourage the students to continue writing, as it is a skill which will serve them well for life.”

Primary school winners will receive a copy of the beautifully illustrated A Day To Remember, which traces the story of ANZAC Day over the last 100 years.

Winners of the high school section will have a copy of The Lost Diggers by Ross Coulthart presented to them by Mr McCormack.

All students who entered the competition will also receive a commemorative certificate from Mr McCormack, which he began presenting last week.

The winning entries have been published in Mr McCormack’s ANZAC booklets, which started arriving in letterboxes in the Riverina last week.

“I congratulate the eight winners and thank the students who participated,” Mr McCormack said.

The winners are as follows:

Primary School

Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area
Bill Ryan
Year 6
St Joseph’s Primary School, Hillston
Snowy Mountains
Molly Baron
Year 4
St Mary’s PrimarySchool, Batlow
South West Slopes
Jack De Britt
Year 6
Wyalong Public School
Wagga Wagga & District
Asha Heffernan
Year 6
Mater Dei Primary School, Wagga Wagga

High School

Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area
Jorja Waring-Bryant
Year 8
Griffith High School
Snowy Mountains
Hannah Radford
Year 8
Tumbarumba High School
South West Slopes
Reagan Hetherington
Year 6
West Wyalong High School
Wagga Wagga
Caitlin Begg
Year 10
Kooringal High School

Cristy Houghton