Disaster assistance flows to more flooded communities

FUNDING and resources for communities within the Coolamon, Junee and Weddin Shires will be available from today, Riverina Nationals’ MP Michael McCormack has confirmed.

“Communities in and around the Riverina and Central West have been hit hard by heavy rainfall and widespread flooding in recent weeks,” Mr McCormack said.

“This rainfall has caused widespread concern and damage in many communities, particularly in crop loss at a critical point in the season, and it is important those communities get access to the assistance they need.

“Joint funding from the Commonwealth and State Governments will ensure assistance measures will be made available to the people, small businesses and farms affected by recent flooding.”

Mr McCormack said assistance has been made available under the jointly-funded Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA), which includes:

  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged;
  • Support for affected local councils to assist with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets;
  • Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and not-for-profit organisations; 
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers; and
  • Grants to not-for-profit organisations.

Mr McCormack, who is also Federal Small Business Minister, again urged locals to shop locally to help the region’s small business owners keep shops and services open as the clean-up continues.

“Every dollar we can spend within local communities helps keep our shops and main streets open,” Mr McCormack said.

“From Tarcutta to Tullamore, this is critical as our region gets back on its feet following the challenging season and rainfall. It keeps local small business open and more jobs and investment into our communities.”

Today’s announcement follows the 27 September 2016 funding announcement for the Bland, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Cowra, Forbes, Hilltops, Parkes and Temora Shires.

For information on personal hardship and distress assistance, please contact the Disaster Welfare Assistance Line on 1800 018 444. To apply for a concessional loan, grant or freight subsidy, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit raa.nsw.gov.au.

Information on the assistance available in response to this disaster is available at disasterassist.gov.au andemergency.nsw.gov.au.

Cristy Houghton