DEPUTY Prime Minister and Leader of The Nationals Michael McCormack has today announced changes to The Nationals’ Ministry team.

"The Prime Minister and I have today agreed changes to The Nationals’ Members and Senators who will be part of the Turnbull Ministry," Mr McCormack said.

"I am fortunate to be leader of a party with so many talented people, but ultimately my focus was on maintaining stability so the Government can get on with the job of delivering for the nation.

"On Monday, I was sworn in as Minister for Infrastructure and Transport. My appointment will be the only change to The Nationals’ Cabinet team.

"Deputy Nationals’ Leader Senator Bridget McKenzie continues as Minister for Rural Health, Minister for Sport and Minister for Regional Communications. Senator Nigel Scullion is Minister for Indigenous Affairs and Leader of The Nationals in the Senate. Senator Matthew Canavan is Minister for Resources and Northern Australia, and David Littleproud continues in his role as Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources.

"I thank each of the Cabinet team members for their hard work and advocacy in their portfolios and championing the needs of rural and regional Australia.

"Darren Chester returns to the Ministry as Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, Minister for Defence Personnel and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on the Centenary of ANZAC, as well as taking on the role of Deputy Leader of the House.

"Keith Pitt becomes Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister replacing Damian Drum who I thank for his service to the Ministry.

"Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives Mark Coulton takes on the role of Assistant Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment following the fine work of Luke Hartsuyker.

"Dr David Gillespie continues in his role as Assistant Minister for Children and Families, and I thank David for his ongoing work advocating for hard-working families.

"The Coalition Government is getting on with the job of delivering for our nation and The Nationals’ team looks forward to continuing our strong advocacy for rural and regional Australia."




Shane Manning