ANZAC Centenary Committee meeting ‘productive’

THE inaugural meeting of the Riverina’s ANZAC Centenary Local Grants Committee has elected
former Army Colonel and current Narrandera Shire Councillor, John Sullivan, as Chairman of the Riverina’s $100,000 entitlement to commemorate the Centenary of ANZAC.

At a meeting in Member for Riverina Michael McCormack’s Wagga Wagga office last night, Cr
Sullivan said he was honoured to head the local grants committee.

In addition to serving 26 years in the Australian Army, Cr Sullivan also served as the Member for Riverina between 1974 and 1977, as well as the Member for Sturt in the New South Wales Parliament.

David McCann of Coolamon, whose active service involved flying battlefield helicopters and serving in East Timor and who is now the curator at his town’s military museum, was elected as the Committee’s Deputy Chairman. 

The ANZAC Centenary Local Grants Committee will determine how the Riverina’s $100,000 allocation will be spent. The Committee will consider projects which meet the following criteria:      

  • Public commemorative events
  • New World War I memorials and honour boards
  • The restoration of existing World War I memorials and honour boards
  • The preservation, interpretation and display of World War I war-time and military memorabilia and artefacts     
  • School projects related to World War I.

Mr McCormack said the Committee’s work was off to a good start and looked forward to active
community participation from individuals and organisations so that some really good local projects can be funded.

“I am very excited with the enthusiasm of the Committee. There are some good ideas about
how the Riverina should spend our allocation, but we are always looking for more suggestions from the community,” Mr McCormack said.

Mr McCormack said the Committee would like to receive applications for funding by 31 January 2014. 

Applications for funding can be found using the following link: 


Cristy Houghton