Local Sports Champion grants announced

FEDERAL Member for Riverina, Michael McCormack, has announced the winners of the most recent round of funding through the Australian Sports Commission’s Local Sports Champion grants program.

The eight individual recipients have been awarded a grant of $500 while the two winning teams receive $3,000 each. 

“The eight individual and two team grants will help these talented local sportspeople with the costs of travelling to carnivals and competitions outside of the region,” Mr McCormack said. 

“Grants can contribute towards the cost of travel, accommodation, equipment and/or uniforms for their nominated sport and competition.” 

The Local Sports Champions program is a Commonwealth Government initiative which provides
assistance to young people who are participating in a state or national sporting competition. 

“I congratulate the winners and wish them all the best for their future sporting
pursuits,” Mr McCormack said. 

Grants are awarded quarterly and applications for the next round can be lodged by visiting

The winners are as follows:

Individual- Sport- Town

Ethan Perry- Cricket- Wagga Wagga 

Caleb Noble- Triathlon- Ganmain 

Orianah Hughes -  Touch- Darlington Point 

Sharni Salau - Water Polo- Mangoplah 

Lana Duffy - Swimming - Wagga Wagga 

Georgia Simpson - Touch- Coolamon 

Harrison Rees - Triathlon -Narrandera 

Beth Rees - Cycling -Narrandera 


Team Sport Town  

Griffith Stars Boys
& Girls U16sTouch Griffith 

Griffith Rep 17s Netball Griffith 

Cristy Houghton